The Cheer News
Breaking News

Nigerian Senate Confirms Service Chiefs

The Nigerian Senate has on Tuesday confirmed the appointment of the four new Service Chiefs.

The approval followed the consideration of the report of the Senate Committee on Defence which recommended their confirmation.

The confirmed Service Chiefs are Maj. Gen. Ibrahim Attahiru – Chief of Army Staff (COAS); Maj. Gen. Lucky Eluonye Onyenucheya lrabor – Chief of Defence Staff (CDS); Rear Admiral Awwal Zubairu Gambo – Chief of Naval Staff (CNS); and Air Vice Marshal Isiaka O. Amao – Chief of Air Staff (CAS).

READ ALSO: COVID-19 Vaccines For Nigerians Arrive Abuja

Senate President Ahmad Lawan enjoined the service chiefs to tackle the insecurity issues in the country.

Recall that Lawan had on Wednesday two weeks ago referred the request of President Muhammadu Buhari to a committee on Defence for further legislative work.

He gave the Senator Wamakko-led committee two weeks to carry out their assignment and report to the Senate in plenary.

The Senate president in his remarks urged the new Service Chiefs to take the war to the bandits and insurgents and dislodge them in their strongholds.

Related posts

Sierra Leone: COVID-19 update


Yoruba Nation Saturday Rally: Hold Police Responsible If …


Lagos Discharges Five More COVID-19 Patients


Leave a Comment