The Cheer News
Breaking News

Nigeria Gives India, Turkey, Brazil Travel Restriction Over COVID-19


Sequel to the increasing cases of COVID-19 and fatalities in some parts of the world, the Nigerian government has placed an entry ban on non-residents and non-Nigerian passport holders who visited Brazil, India or Turkey within 14 days of entry into Nigeria.

Nigeria Presidential Steering Committee on COVID-19 reached the above agreement to ban the afore-mentioned countries to reduce the possibility of importing the more deadly new strain of the virus.

Boss Mustapha, who chaired the committee in a statement said: “Non-Nigerian passport holders and non-residents who visited Brazil, India or Turkey within days preceding travel to Nigeria, shall be denied entry into Nigeria.

“This regulation, however, does not apply to passengers who transited through these countries.

“The following measures shall apply to airlines and passengers who fail to comply with I and II(a) above: airlines shall mandatorily pay a penalty of $3,500 for each defaulting passenger.

“Non-Nigerians will be denied entry and returned to the country of embarkation at a cost to the airline.

“Nigerians and those with a permanent residence permit who visited Brazil, India or Turkey within 14 days preceding travel to Nigeria shall be made to undergo seven days of mandatory quarantine in a government-approved facility at the point-of-entry city and at a cost to the passenger.

“The following condition shall apply to such passengers: Within 24 hours of arrival shall take a COVID-19 PCR test.

READ ALSO: U.S. Vows To Prioritise  Appointments for Student Visa Applicants

“If positive, the passenger shall be admitted within a government-approved treatment centre, in line with national treatment protocols.

“If negative, the passenger shall continue to remain in quarantine and made to undergo a repeat PCR test on day 7 of their quarantine.”

According to the guidelines, passengers arriving in Nigeria from other destinations must observe a seven-day self-isolation at their final destination.

“They must carry out a COVID-19 PCR test on day 7 at selected laboratory and shall be monitored for compliance to isolation protocol by appropriate authorities.

“Passenger who provided false or misleading contact information will be liable to prosecution.

“Also, persons who willfully disregard or refuse to comply with directions of Port-Health staff, security agencies or evade quarantine shall be prosecuted in accordance with the law.

“State governments are required to ensure that all returning travellers from all countries are monitored to ensure adherence to the mandatory seven-day self-isolation period and the repeat COVID-19 PCR test on the seventh day after arrival.

“We urge members of the public to adhere to all COVID-19 preventive measures in place including adherence to the national travel protocol, proper use of face mask, regular handwashing and physical distancing.”

Related posts

How Babcock Cardiac Centre Saves Nigeria N100bn Annual Medical Tourism


39 Firms Show Interest in Construction of 4th Mainland Bridge


Global Information and Early Warning System (GIEWS) Country Brief – Malawi


Leave a Comment