The Cheer News
Breaking News

Akpabio Out, As Senate Swears-in Ekpenyong

The hope of Senator Godswill Akpabio of returning to the Senate was dashed today as the newly elected lawmaker, Senator Christopher  Ekpenyong of the PDP has been sworn in by Lawan.

Ekpenyong defeated Akpabio in the January 25, 2020 re-run election for Akwa Ibom Northwest Senatorial district with a total of 134, 717 votes, while Akpabio scored a total of 83, 820 votes.

The results of the election indicate that senator Akpabio who is currently the minister of Niger Delta Affairs won Ekpenyong only in his own ward, Ukana West ward2.

READ ALSO: Boko Haram: Ex-Senate President Ebute Writes Lawan

Ekpeyong was initially declared the winner of the conducted 2019 National Assembly election but upon hearing the case filed against him by the Minister of Niger Delta Affairs,  Senator Godswill Akpabio, the Appeal court nullified the election and ordered a rerun.

Related posts

Africa’s Best Corporate-Startup Collaboration Accelerator Open for Applications


Southeast Bussiness Rep In PSC, Jumbo Nkemka Ofor Is dead.


Nnamdi Kanu’s Repatriation: International Human Rights Commission justifies Nigeria and Kenya’ Roles


Leave a Comment