The Cheer News
Breaking News

Tinubu Inaugurates Economic Team Headed By Shetimma

Tinubu and Shetimma

The National Economic Council, led by Vice President Senator Kashim Shettima, was established by President Bola Tinubu with the mission of assisting his administration’s efforts to improve the nation’s economic fortunes.

One week after the President asked NEC to develop interventions to lessen the consequences of the recent elimination of gasoline subsidies, the President presided over the inauguration on Thursday, which took place in the banquet hall of the State House in Abuja.

President Tinubu asserts that expanding the country’s economy is a challenging undertaking and that there is no justification for failing. He reaffirmed his administration’s dedication to keeping its campaign commitments to Nigerians.


The National Economic Council, or NEC, has the authority to “advise the President concerning the economic affairs of the Federation, and in particular on measures necessary for the coordination of the economic planning efforts or economic programmes of the various Governments of the Federation,” according to its mandate. The NEC meets once a month.

All 36 State Governors, the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, and other co-opted government representatives are members of the Council.

Governors from Zamfara, Dauda Lawal; Ogun, Dapo Abiodun; Anambra, Charles Soludo; Yobe, Mai Mala Buni; Taraba, Agbu Kefas; Delta, Sheriff Oborevwori; Rivers, Siminalayi Fubara; Niger, Mohammed Bago; and Sokoto, Ahmad Aliyu are among those in attendance at the inaugural meeting.

Others include Kwara, Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq; Osun, Ademola Adeleke; Kogi, Yahaya Bello; Ekiti, Biodun Oyebanji; Nasarawa, Abdullahi Sule; Akwa Ibom, Umo Eno; Enugu, Peter Mbah; Cross River, Bassey Otu; Plateau, Caleb Muftwang; Kebbi, Nasir Idris; Katsina, Aliyu Radda and Benue, Hycinth Alia.

Others are Francis Nwifuru of Ebonyi, Uba Sani of Kaduna, Godwin Obaseki of Edo, Alex Otti of Abia, Douye Diri of Bayelsa, Abba Yusuf of Kano, Bala Mohammed of Bauchi, Seyi Makinde of Oyo, and Deputy Governors Umar Kadafur and Lucky Ayedatiwa of Ondo.

Sen. George Akume, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila, the Chief of Staff to the President, Mele Kyari, the Group Chief Executive Officer (GCEO) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Company Limited (NNPCL), Oluwatoyin Madein, the Acting Accountant General of the Federation, Folashodun Shonubi, the Permanent Secretaries of Budget and National Planning, Federal Capital Territory Administration, and State House are among those

More to come shortly

Related posts

South Africa: Water and Sanitation on country’s reservoirs


BREAKING: Makinde Changes School Reopen Plan, Fixes New Date


CBN Refutes News On Recirculation Of Old Notes


Leave a Comment