The Cheer News
Breaking News

FG Establishes Committee for Ondo and Benin Maritime Ports

For the proposed Ondo Deep Sea and Benin River Ports, the Federal Government, through the Ministry of Transportation, has established a Project Steering Committee.

Dr. Magdalene Ajani, the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Transportation, presided over the ceremony.

Henshaw Ogubike, the ministry’s director of press and public relations, said this in a statement.

According to Ajani, the committee was established to support the government’s initiatives to further reduce congestion in the Western Ports and maximize the maritime industry’s economic contributions.

According to Ajani, the committee’s mandate is to offer recommendations and leadership for the projects and to enable the obtaining of all necessary licenses, clearances, and approvals.

She added that the committee will also be responsible for preparing the transaction so that Mu’azu Sambo, the minister of transportation, can get the consent of the Federal Executive Council.

The Managing Director of the Nigerian Ports Authority is one of the Steering Committee’s members, along with others from the National Inland Waterways, Nigerian Shippers’ Council, and Infrastructure Concession Regulatory Commission.

The message read, “The Committee is to begin work immediately.”


Related posts

Buhari Promises Greater Opportunities In Agriculture & Manufacturing In 2020


Buhari, Johnathan Meets Together At Abuja


FG Not Doing Enough To Fight Corruption, Says Tambuwal


Leave a Comment