The Cheer News
Breaking News Politics

Sanwo-Olu Inaugurates 37 Commissioners and Special Advisers in Lagos

Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu, the governor of Lagos State, swore in 37 commissioners and special advisers on Wednesday, directing them to collaborate and work together to build on the accomplishments of the current administration’s first four years in office.

The 29 male and 8 female members of the state executive council, which is a mix of politicians and technocrats, are made up of 18 returning members of the most recent cabinet members and 19 new names.

At the State Executive Council’s swearing-in event, which was place at Adeyemi Bero Auditorium in Alausa, Ikeja, Governor Sanwo-Olu urged the Commissioners and Special Advisers to go above and beyond what Lagosians had come to expect.

He said, “These are, by any measure, some of our brightest brains, not just in Lagos State, but right across the country,” saying that the new Commissioners and Special Advisers had been deliberately and thoughtfully picked.

”These are individuals who are capable of competing anywhere in the globe and will do so. They serve as symbols of Lagos State’s mission as a Center of Excellence. So, Lagosians should be happy with their choice and look forward to receiving top-notch service and performance in the months and years to come.”

The Governor declared: “Our new cabinet’s duty is clear. Its goal is to build on the achievements of the first four years of our administration’s tenure. To bring our people one step closer to our aspiration of a

”The expectations of our people have never been higher than they are right now. Doing your best to meet them is therefore not an option. It is the least you will be expected to do. Lagos is the Centre of Excellence; your work must be excellent in every ramification.

“Working together, carrying the people along, keeping your feet on the ground, and ensuring that every decision you take has the best interest of our people at the heart of it, are the surest ways to succeed.”

Sanwo-Olu while speaking on the controversy that trailed the screening and confirmation of the nominees by the Lagos State House of Assembly, said there is no bickering between the executive and legislature.

He said: “I am not unaware of the feelings in some quarters that the initial rejection of some nominees by the Lagos State House of Assembly, necessitating the submission of a revised list of nominees, signified a call to arms between the Executive and the Legislature. I reject such feelings in totality. Were the Executive designed to be omnipotent and omniscient, the very important oversight function of the Legislature would be needless.

“Thankfully, our Constitution recognises that our people will be best served with a system of Checks and Balances that is led by independent bodies in each Arm of Government. This system demands collaboration, and a willingness to give and take without rancour. That is what the Executive and Legislature of Lagos State, in the past few weeks, have fully demonstrated in arriving at this event today. I thank the Right Honourable Speaker and all members of the Lagos State House of Assembly for their diligence, cooperation and contribution.

“To the new members of the Executive Council, this spirit of cooperation and collaboration with the Lagos State House of Assembly is one that you must continue to build on. The people of Lagos State demand and expect the best. Achieving this requires every one of you to reach out, to engage and to collaborate. It requires you to have the humility to listen and to learn; the humility to consult widely and to consider well-meaning advice; and the humility to recognise that we all win or lose together. I demand and expect no less from you all.”

Governor Sanwo-Olu said his administration had achieved a lot in its first tenure through the THEMES developmental agenda.

He promised that the second term will be focused on building and completing enduring legacy projects in Transportation, Health and Agriculture that will open up more economic and developmental opportunities for the citizens of our great State.

He therefore urged residents to maintain and take ownership of the structures and public assets put in place by the administration in the state.

He thanked all stakeholders, party leaders and legislative arms for their support and collaboration.

Speaking earlier, the Secretary to the Lagos State Government, Barr. (Mrs.) Abimbola Salu-Hundeyin, urged the newly appointed cabinet members to work assiduously with the Governor using the THEMES+ developmental agenda in bringing the dividends of democracy to the people of the state.

She said their responsibilities were to support, formulate and implement the government’s policies for the good of the people as they were appointed to serve.

In a vote of assurance on behalf of the cabinet members, the Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Mr Gbenga Omotoso, appreciated Governor Sanwo-Olu for finding them worthy of the honour to serve the Lagos State Government and the people of Lagos.

Omotoso promised that the newly appointed Commissioners and Special Advisers would not disappoint by working with Governor Sanwo-Olu on the journey to Greater Lagos.

The 37 cabinet members comprised 23 commissioners and 14 Special Advisers.

The Commissioners are; Lawal Pedro, SAN (Justice and Attorney-General), Bolaji Dada (Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation), Akin Abayomi (Health) Tokunbo Wahab (Environment), Moruf Akinderu Fatai (Housing), Gbenga Omotoso (Information and Strategy), Ibrahim Layode (Home Affairs), Mobolaji Ogunlende (Youths and Social Development), Dayo Alebiosu-Bush (Waterfront Infrastructure), Abisola Olusanya (Agriculture), Gbenga Oyerinde (Special Duties), Toke Benson-Awoyinka (Tourism), Osiyemi Oluwaseun (Transportation).

Others are Tunbosun Alake (Innovation, Science and Technology), Mr. Afolabi Ayantayo (Establishment, Training and Pension), Kayode Bolaji Roberts (Local Government Affairs), Mosopefoluwa George (Economic Planning and Budget), Olumide Oluyinka (Physical Planning and Urban Development), Abayomi Samson Oluyomi (Finance), Folashade Ambrose-Medem (Industry, Trade and Investment), Jamiu Alli-Balogun (Basic Education), Akinyeri Bankole Ajigbotafe (Wealth Creations) and Tolani Sule Akibu (Tertiary Education)

The Special Advisers are; Sola Giwa (Transportation), Rotimi Fashola (Agriculture), Abiola Olowu (Commerce, Industry and Investment), Olajide Babatunde (eGIS), Idris Aregbe (Tourism), Oreoluwa Finnih-Awokoya (Health), Adekunle Olayinka (Works and Infrastructures), AbdulKabir Opeyemi Ogungbo (Taxation and Pension), Bola Olumegbon (Central Business District, CBD), Olakunle Rotimi-Akodu (Environment), Afolabi Abiodun Tajudeen (Political Education and Civic Engagement), Barakat Odunuga-Bakare (Housing), Yekini Nurudeen Agbaje (Rural Development and Chieftaincy Affairs) and Iyabode Oyeyemi Ayoola (Central Internal Audit).

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by the First Lady, Dr Ibijoke Sanwo-Olu, Lagos State Deputy Governor, Dr Obafemi Hamzat and his wife, Oluremi; Speaker, Lagos State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa; Minister of Solid Minerals Development, Mr Dele Alake; Senators Oluranti Adebule and Wasiu Eshinloku-Sanni; Lagos State Head of Service, Mr. Hakeem Muri-Okunola; Chief of Staff, Mr. Tayo Ayinde; members of the Governance Advisory Council (GAC) led by its chairman, Prince Tajudeen Olusi; Lagos State All Progressives Congress (APC) Chairman, Pastor Cornelious Ojelabi; members of National and State Assemblies, Permanent Secretaries, traditional, religious and party leaders, among others.

Related posts

IsDB and ISFD partners on Empowerment for Poverty Reduction Program


School Reopen: ASUU Backs FG Wants Reopen 2021


Senator Reveals Man Behind Hate Speech Bill


Leave a Comment